Praying Through

I have recently begun reading a book by Mark Batterson called The Circle Maker. The concept of “praying through” versus “praying for” really impacted me. I will often pray for someone or something. Many times these prayers are said and forgotten. Sometimes, however, a one-time prayer is not enough. Some might think or say that if your prayer request is not granted right away there is something wrong. (Not God’s will, not enough faith, unconfessed sin, etc.) I have grappled with some of these ideas myself, and though I haven’t gotten even halfway through it, this book has been a help. Some occasions call for praying through, rather than merely praying for. This has been the case with many issues in our lives over the past few years.

It has been out a while, but since I recently discovered it I and my husband are very excited about this book and it’s companion video. We plan to view the video segments on our family lake trip next month and hope it will challenge and encourage our family to pray through with confidence. I am so excited to see what God has planned! I have another little project planned related to prayer that the younger kids should like (We will see if I get a picture up of the finished project!)

2 thoughts on “Praying Through

Leave a Reply

